“We don’t need mining,” other misconceptions, and why they’re wrong.

Last March 2016, I flew to Puerto Princesa, Palawan as a guest speaker for an event promoting responsible mining, which was hosted by the University of the Philippines Mining Engineering Society (UP MINERS). I was asked to give a talk about the common misconceptions about mining to elementary, high school, and college students from various schools in Palawan (they probably numbered almost to a thousand, by my estimate! So, kudos to UP MINERS!).

I’d like to share my presentation slides with you. If you want to read a more thorough discussion about common misconceptions about mining, you can check out my earlier blog post here.

One more thing. I initially embedded a video of the construction of the Eden Project in my presentation. I removed it from the presentation to reduce file size, but you can still watch it here: Eden Project Construction

Leave a Reply

